You are here


   Professor Vinod K. Singh

   Director (additional charge),

   MANIT Bhopal


Professor Vinod Singh was born on 9th September, 1959 in village-Anantpur of district Azamgarh (U.P.). He did M.Sc. (Chemistry) from BHU in 1980 and Ph.D. work at Malti-Chem Research Center Nandesari, Baroda. He spent two years (1985-1987) in Canada at the University of Calgary and University of British Columbia and three years at Harvard University (Advisor: Professor E. J. Corey, Nobel Laureate) in U.S.A, as a post-doctoral fellow. After a brief stint as a senior scientist at Neurogen Corporation, USA, he joined IIT Kanpur in 1990 where he holds a position of Professor. He also held a position of Umang Gupta Chair Professor in the Institute.

Professor Singh's research work falls in the area of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, more specifically, asymmetric synthesis. He has developed several new chiral ligands/catalysts for enantioselective reactions. One of chiral catalysts developed in his laboratory has been named as "Singh's Catalyst" which is one of the best chiral organocatalysts for enantioselective aldol reaction in aqueous medium. He has accomplished total synthesis of several bioactive natural products. His work is documented in more than 140 research publications. He has guided 30 Ph.D. students, and more than 12 students and post-docs are currently working with him.

He has been recognised with several awards and honours such as Padma Shri (2014), Distinguished Alumnus Award by BHU (2012), Goyal Prize (2011), Vigyan Ratna Award of U.P. (2006), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize (2004), and Swarnajayanti Fellowship Award (1998), among others. In addition, he has been elected as a Fellow of Indian National Science Academy (FNA), Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc), National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), and The World Academy of Sciences (FTWAS).

Professor Singh is Editor of an Elsevier journal - Tetrahedron Lett. He was conferred upon D.Sc. (honoris causa) in 2012 by Jabalpur University.

He is currently on deputation from IIT Kanpur as a Founder Director of IISER Bhopal since 12th June 2008. He is a Mentor Director of IISER Berhampur. He also holds additional charge of Directorship of MANIT Bhopal.

He was discharged with responsibilities as a Founder Director of SPA Bhopal (additional charge) and Chairman of BoG, NITTTR Bhopal. He had been a Member of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC to PM) during 2009-2014.